Panataran temple is located in the southwestern slopes of Mount Kelud, about 12 km to the north of Blitar, precisely in the Village Panataran, Ngleggok District, Municipality of Blitar. This temple is a collection of ancient buildings lining from the northwest to the east and then continued to the southeast, occupying 12,946 m2. Panataran temple clusters rediscovered in 1815 by Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles (1781-1826), Lieutenant Governor-General of the British colonial government in power in the archipelago at that time. Together with Dr. Horsfield was a natural scientist, Raffles paid a visit to the Temple Panataran. Having found back by Raffles, the researchers began to arrive to conduct the investigation and recording of archaeological objects in the region Panataran. In 1867, Andre de la Porte with J. Knebel also conducts research on Panataran temple area. His study was published in 1900 under the title “De ruines van Panataran ‘. In Negarakertagama book, Upgrading temple called the Temple Palah. It is told that King Hayam Wuruk (1350-1389 AD) from Majapahit frequented Palah Hyang Acalapati to worship, or what is known as Girindra (meaning king of the mountain) in trust Shiva. Therefore, it is clear that the temple was intentionally constructed Palah in the region with Kelud background, because it is intended as a place to worship the mountain. The cult of Kelud aims to ward off danger and to avoid the calamity that can be caused by the mountain. Based on the inscriptions on a stone that lies south side of the main building, alleged that Palah temple was built in the early 12th century AD, by order of King Srengga from Kediri. Nevertheless, the temple continued to experience Panataran development and improvement to, and even after, during the reign of King Hayam Wuruk. This allegation is based on the number of years written in various places in this temple which ranged from 1197 years until the year 1454 AD Panataran all areas, except for pages that are in the southeast, divided by two lines across the wall from north to south into three parts, namely:
- Gate. Entrance to the temple area is located west side. From the entrance there are stairs down to the parking area of approximately 6 m2. In this court there are two giant statues guard the door (Dwarapala), the lettering statues coaster year 1242 Saka (1320 AD) in ancient Javanese characters. Based on the writings of such figures experts suspect that the new temple was inaugurated as Panataran shrine of the kingdom (state temple) in the reign of King Jayanegara, who ruled Majapahit in AD 1309-1328
- Front courtyard. In the front yard, there are about 6 fruits former buildings, including 2 fruit can not be recognized anymore original form. One of the important buildings are Bale Agung, located on the northwest side of the front yard, indented slightly to the west (the front). Bale Agung, according NJKrom, used to place the priests’ council, or markers, such as temples in Bali. Bale Agung is a building shaped like a rectangular platform measuring 37 x 18.84 m 2 with floor height 1.44 meters. The walls and roof of the building had not left. Only the floor is still intact.
- Central courtyard. The court was divided into two more by the wall that ran east-west direction. Is unknown whether this central courtyard surrounded by a wall first, because that left only the foundation course. So is the wall that surrounded the whole area had collapsed Panataran. Wall circumference and wall insulation made of red bricks that can not survive in the long course of time.